Offer it Up

Saturday, 30 July 2016.

Good morning and Happy Saturday!

I have felt a positive shift in my attitude this week.  Since my last post I have made a conscious effort to be less passive in my daily routine.  What I mean by this… if you know me you know that I am not a morning person.  But for the past five or six days I’ve set my alarm for 6:30 (which then blares my Bieber playlist on Pandora) and have been able to wake up much earlier than I would otherwise.  This seemingly small change has had an awesome impact on my attitude.  I’ve been able to drink my coffee, ease into the day, and accomplish chores around the house that I fell behind on this past month.

It’s been great because it’s made me feel so much more productive.  I feel more in control and calm when the house is picked up and organized rather than cluttered up with mail and paperwork covering the counters.  Don’t get me wrong, there’s still plenty to do but I feel much more capable of getting everything done when I’m not sleeping half the day away.

I came across the following post this week….

IMG_6791

It really resonated with me.  The word sacrifice has such a negative connotation in our culture, but from my experience, sacrifice brings us so much closer to God and shows us what we can do when we lean on him.  When we stop trying to do things through our own abilities and focus on Him and his love, we can get through so much.

Yesterday for instance I woke up early-ish, had coffee with my mom, went to workout, then met my mom so we could finish up some paperwork for a new listing she has.  By the time were were done it was about 2pm, I was hot and wanted to go home to cool off, but I had told myself earlier that I would go to the grocery store.  Something I REALLY needed to do.  I considered going home and relaxing for a minute and then going back out.  But then I knew if I did that, I would probably not go back out to the store, and if I did it would be busy with people getting out of work on Friday evening.

So I went – and I offered up the feeling of doing something that I really didn’t want to do.  I reminded myself to be grateful to have a car that runs and has A/C and gets me where I need to go.  Be grateful for the money in the bank that allows me to purchase healthy food.  The store wasn’t crowded at all and I was so happy to get that errand done.  Then I picked up dry cleaning and then I thought that I really needed to go to the pharmacy.  I use the pharmacy at the UNM Cancer Center, it’s convenient in many ways, but it’s not close to my house.

Again I thought, I’ll just wait until Monday to go… but I knew it was a better decision to bite the bullet and drive the 15 minutes to pick up a script that I needed.  The silver lining was that my new prescription plan went through and my script only cost me $1.20! 🙂  Once I got home I felt pleased with myself that I ran three errands that I really didn’t feel like doing, but I was happy once they were done.

By offering up these small sacrifices, I feel more aware of my weakness – I’d much rather lay on the sofa and nap, but by focusing on being productive and accomplishing what I need to do, I feel closer to God.  He strengthens me.  I was happy to be home and was able to make a delicious meal for Matt and I to enjoy together.  It turned out to be a lovely evening and I was so glad not to have to order take-out or pick up fast food.

I’ve also made some positive decisions over the past week.  I enrolled in Biology and Chemistry at CNM.  These are the pre-reqs I need to apply to nursing school.  It was a weight off my shoulders to enroll and take a step towards a goal.  When I initially tried to go back to school (Spring of 2015) I really did not have the energy to keep up with the requirements of a Lecture session and a Lab.  Physically I needed so much more rest and recuperation, mentally I truly had chemo brain and had trouble concentrating on lectures and retaining information from the text.  Sitting through a 2-3 hour Lab was also tough for me physically.  I’m optimistic that I’ll be able to do so much more this time around.

By enrolling I have given myself options.  I am following through with getting my real estate license, but I am also following through with what I feel could be my true career path.  I am so happy to be learning from my mom the real estate business and I hope to be able to continue helping her with paperwork as a transaction manager, but it feels great to have options.

Hope you all have a great weekend!

Sincerely,

cv_wolfe_062116 copy

 

One comment

  1. Camila Abadie · · Reply

    Dear Laura! Thanks for sharing your experience, thoughts and feelings. Your attitude towards your sacrifices is so wise and inspiring. I am so happy our paths crossed. Please keep sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Chris Beat Cancer

A resource for healing cancer with nutrition and natural therapies by chemo-free survivor Chris Wark

My Sweat Life

For God did not give us a spirit of cowardice but rather of power and love and self-control. 2tim1:7

Vincent Egoro

Vincent Egoro - Shares Personal Improvement, Love, Motivational Messages and Quotes, to inspire you to live your greatest Life...Every day!

KW Blog

For God did not give us a spirit of cowardice but rather of power and love and self-control. 2tim1:7

blog

For God did not give us a spirit of cowardice but rather of power and love and self-control. 2tim1:7

JOSELYN'S BRAWL

Two life-threatening diseases that lead to a bone marrow transplant and a snappy Buttkick List

Blog - Kaity Kasper

For God did not give us a spirit of cowardice but rather of power and love and self-control. 2tim1:7

Spoon With Me

Foods you love, that love you back!

Austin Moms Blog

a resource for Austin moms

K.V. Scruggs

Writer, Physician, Mom

Lesley and Ryan

For God did not give us a spirit of cowardice but rather of power and love and self-control. 2tim1:7

OsteoStrong®

For God did not give us a spirit of cowardice but rather of power and love and self-control. 2tim1:7

Follow Eric

For God did not give us a spirit of cowardice but rather of power and love and self-control. 2tim1:7

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Real as the Streets

Faithfully Authentic

The Daily Register

For God did not give us a spirit of cowardice but rather of power and love and self-control. 2tim1:7

Behind the White Coat

Beats a real human heart...

Kristina Braly

For God did not give us a spirit of cowardice but rather of power and love and self-control. 2tim1:7

