The Rook

Friday, 8 April 2016.

Every year in March my family participates in a small pool for the men’s NCAA basketball championship.  We each put in $7 and pick our bracket round by round.  For the championship game we pick our guess for the winner and the point spread.  My aunt has always run the pool in the past and it is always so fun.  But last year she decided would be her final year to play the bookie and I volunteered to step in and give it a shot for 2016 (I had some big shoes to fill).

She sent out an email to all of the usual participants and filled them in on the change.  I took it from there and in my emails reminding everyone of the rules and that they needed to send their picks to me, instead of signing it as, ‘The Bookie’ like she had I chose to sign it, ‘The Rookie Bookie.’  My dad took to calling me ‘Rook,’ which I thought was really pretty cute.

So this is just a little post about how much I enjoyed being the Rook this year and I hope this is a tradition my family and I carry out for many years to come.

This year was one of the best tournaments I can remember.  There were a record number of upsets in the first round, and out of the final four, only one was a No. 1 ranked team.  For the final game I picked No. 2 Villanova to beat No. 1 North Carolina by 5 points.

Matt and I were at the bowling alley on Monday night when the game was being played.  We have been bowling every Monday night for the past 14 weeks in a league through his work (this coming Monday is the last night 😦 ).  I am a terrible bowler but I have had an absolute blast in this league and I’ve improved quite a bit.  So while we bowled our three games we got to watch that fantastic basketball game.

I was absolutely thrilled when Villanova won.  My mom is from Philly and a lot of our family still lives out that way, and I’ve also never been a fan of North Carolina.  It was so fun to watch that buzzer beater win the game.  I thought for sure we were going to go into overtime and that Villanova would’t be able to hold onto their sliver of a lead.  But then that clutch three pointer went in!  That is what March Madness is all about.  This year the final four was played in Houston, and it is definitely a wish of mine to someday be able to attend a final four game.

Below is the video that is compiled and played at the end of each tournament after the final team prevails, ‘One Shining Moment.’  The joy of success and the agony of defeat…Enjoy!

 

cv_wolfe_062116 copy

 

Leave a Reply

Chris Beat Cancer

A resource for healing cancer with nutrition and natural therapies by chemo-free survivor Chris Wark

My Sweat Life

For God did not give us a spirit of cowardice but rather of power and love and self-control. 2tim1:7

Vincent Egoro

Vincent Egoro - Shares Personal Improvement, Love, Motivational Messages and Quotes, to inspire you to live your greatest Life...Every day!

KW Blog

For God did not give us a spirit of cowardice but rather of power and love and self-control. 2tim1:7

blog

For God did not give us a spirit of cowardice but rather of power and love and self-control. 2tim1:7

JOSELYN'S BRAWL

Two life-threatening diseases that lead to a bone marrow transplant and a snappy Buttkick List

Blog - Kaity Kasper

For God did not give us a spirit of cowardice but rather of power and love and self-control. 2tim1:7

Spoon With Me

Foods you love, that love you back!

Austin Moms Blog

a resource for Austin moms

K.V. Scruggs

Writer, Physician, Mom

Lesley and Ryan

For God did not give us a spirit of cowardice but rather of power and love and self-control. 2tim1:7

OsteoStrong®

For God did not give us a spirit of cowardice but rather of power and love and self-control. 2tim1:7

Follow Eric

For God did not give us a spirit of cowardice but rather of power and love and self-control. 2tim1:7

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Real as the Streets

Faithfully Authentic

The Daily Register

For God did not give us a spirit of cowardice but rather of power and love and self-control. 2tim1:7

Behind the White Coat

Beats a real human heart...

Kristina Braly

For God did not give us a spirit of cowardice but rather of power and love and self-control. 2tim1:7

