Chemo In My Rearview Mirror

Friday, 26 February 2016.

Hey There!

Thank you so much for stopping by!  This is my first entry, and in many ways it feels like the spring of my life is beginning after a long, long winter.  I have considered blogging about my cancer journey, but for some reason it has never felt like the right time.  I admit, a friend of a friend gave me a boost of confidence and it gave me that extra little push I needed to get started.

My hope is that by sharing the honest details of my life after chemo I can connect with others going through something similar and encourage those who are still battling. I am going to do my best be honest, genuine, and avoid cliché platitudes, and hopefully this will be a fun creative outlet for my brain.

My 29th birthday is in 2 days.  I will also complete my 27 month battle with ALL (Acute-Lymphoblastic-Leukemia).  That’s right, my birthday and end of treatment are on the same day (what are the odds??).  I cannot imagine a better gift than not taking any more chemo meds.  February 2nd was my last I.V. infusion; February 23rd was my final dose of methotrexate; and now February 28th will be my last dose of Mercaptopurine.  I’m sure this all sounds like a bunch of gibberish to most, but this has been my primary focus for the past two years.

12688216_10103877831406738_8348522485870993310_n

Two years ago I was admitted to the hospital on my 27th birthday for the first of several (six I think?) ‘high dose methotrexate’ treatments.  My mother bought my favorite cake from Whole Foods, everyone sang Happy Birthday.  We tried to enjoy ourselves and make everything normal, but it was so far from normal.  I couldn’t hold back the tears.  And then I couldn’t hold down the cake.  It was a disaster.  But I clung to the hope that two years from that day I would be done with treatment, this was all just temporary.  And now it’s here and I can hardly believe how much has changed, how far we’ve all come, and the fact that chemo is seriously going to be in my past.

I wish I could say that cancer was going to be in my past, never to be thought of again, but I don’t think it works that way.  I think cancer will always be a part of me and my story.  I just hope it becomes a smaller and smaller part.

Cheers! Here’s to a wonderful year.

Please check back soon for updates.

cv_wolfe_062116 copy

6 comments

  1. welcome to the blogging world my friend!

    Like

  2. Beautifully and thoughtfully written. I, too hope that your cancer just becomes a smaller and smaller part of you and that soon you will even be able to forget much of the journey. In the meantime, I look forward to following along as you journal your thoughts and progress with “normal, boring, everyday, wonderful life.” You have done and are continuing to do good work. Keep it up!

    Like

    1. Thank you Dot 💗 I hope the more I write the better my brain starts working. Yay for normal boring life!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Regina Carroll · · Reply

    Laura, I just read your first & second blog together. You are skillful at both writing and living this life with finesse. Thank you for sharing what your first month off chemo feels like for you. It will inform many grateful survivors. Congratulations on joining in the planning for Light The Night. You will be an asset to the organization. Here’s hoping that your neuropathy symptoms steadily improve. Keep writing for us all. Regina 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for the encouraging words Regina! It means a lot to me that even though you already know most of my story that you are still interested in reading about my experiences going forward.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Chris Beat Cancer

A resource for healing cancer with nutrition and natural therapies by chemo-free survivor Chris Wark

My Sweat Life

For God did not give us a spirit of cowardice but rather of power and love and self-control. 2tim1:7

Vincent Egoro

Vincent Egoro - Shares Personal Improvement, Love, Motivational Messages and Quotes, to inspire you to live your greatest Life...Every day!

KW Blog

For God did not give us a spirit of cowardice but rather of power and love and self-control. 2tim1:7

blog

For God did not give us a spirit of cowardice but rather of power and love and self-control. 2tim1:7

JOSELYN'S BRAWL

Two rare, life-threatening diseases that led to a bone marrow transplant and a snappy Buttkick List

Blog - Kaity Kasper

For God did not give us a spirit of cowardice but rather of power and love and self-control. 2tim1:7

Spoon With Me

Foods you love, that love you back!

Austin Moms Blog

a resource for Austin moms

K.V. Scruggs

Writer, Physician, Mom

Lesley and Ryan

For God did not give us a spirit of cowardice but rather of power and love and self-control. 2tim1:7

OsteoStrong®

For God did not give us a spirit of cowardice but rather of power and love and self-control. 2tim1:7

Follow Eric

For God did not give us a spirit of cowardice but rather of power and love and self-control. 2tim1:7

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Real as the Streets

Faithfully Authentic

The Daily Register

For God did not give us a spirit of cowardice but rather of power and love and self-control. 2tim1:7

Behind the White Coat

Beats a real human heart...

Kristina Braly

For God did not give us a spirit of cowardice but rather of power and love and self-control. 2tim1:7

